Friday, June 24, 2011

Isnaj Dui & Hybernation - Something More

Text taken from Rural Colours

Stuart Bowditch, aka Hybernation, is a sound artist and musician who is inspired by his love of places and the people, objects and experiences he encounters there. He has released an album on Cotton Goods 'E2 & E8', 2 EP's on Rednetic Recordings 'Snow Cover' and 'Greyhound Park', a split Floppy Disc on Courier 'Parcel 02' alongside many remixes and collaborations.

Katie English, aka Isnaj Dui, is a classically trained flautist working within electroacoustic music who uses electronically manipulated flutes and homemade instruments. To date she has had several releases including 'Amacrine' on Smallfish (2007), 'Unstable Equilibrium' on Home Normal (2009) and ‘Protective Displacement’, a previous release on Rural Colours (2010).

Having known each other for several years, Stuart and Katie agreed to remix each others’ tracks. Happy with the results they then went on to record a collaborative track; Stuart processing Katie's source sound and adding a mandolin sample to Katie’s looped flute lines, the EP as a whole resulting in 'Something More' than the sum of its parts.


Last fm

Saito Koji - Luck

Text taken from Resting Bell

I think Saito Koji needs only little introduction. Besides his three former Resting Bell-releases, he released his work on labels like Kokeshidisk, Somehow Recordings, SEM , taâlem, Magic Book Records, Kesh Recordings and Gears of Sand Recordings.

His new Resting Bell-release "Luck" consists of three tracks with a total duration of 48 minutes. The first track "Old Tape Magic" starts off with a beautiful 20-minute long drone. Beautiful, bright and shimmering. The short middle piece "Count" is a more rhythmic and pulsative interlude, followed by another 20-minute piece called "Luck" which has a much more melodic and lucid quality. Saito Koji continues to produce simply wonderful, meditative music with a warm and soft feeling in which you can get lost every time you listen.

As I can say for all of Saito's releases: My recommendation is to put up your headphones, close your eyes and relax.

320Kbps MP3

Download: Saito Koji - Candle
Download: Saito Koji - Time / Line

last fm

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

obe:lus - Love's Uneasy Tears e​.​p.

Industrial-ambient-drone e.p.

released 20 June 2011

Lauki - 69º54´S​-​135º12´E

Text taken from audiogourmet

Next up on Audio Gourmet, we present an EP of five tracks by Spanish artist Lauki. He was born in Pamplona and lives in Barcelona where he currently works as freelance sound technician and composer.

Mikel Lauki has several other projects, including f.ex and Lupus where he blends ambient music and IDM. At the end of 2008 the netlabel 49manekinow published his album “Obertura”, a piece of sound experiments trapped within IDM, glitch and concrete music boundaries.
He is also part of the collective Sci-Phi, where he explores through different audiovisual pieces, the connection between image, sound and the sensibility of the time we live.

He has a particular weakness for contemporary classic music, generative art and the aesthetics of the digital error.
With the juxtaposition of classical music set to fractured digital manipulation, 69º54´S-135º12´E is characterised by crystalline nets of microsound, glitch and computer sounds that break upon contact with the delicately analog melancholy of rubbed strings.

The contrast of these two ingredients is stark, like ice melting in the hot summer sun. The ice is fragile and vulnerable, inevitably melting away quickly in the intensity of the heat. For this EP, the five short tracks reference this beautifully as the modern classical melodies are quickly melted into droplets by the electronic glitches, evaporating in just fifteen minutes.

The beauty is in the collapse...

Additional liner notes from the artist:
"69º54´S-135º12´E - Coordinates scribbled on a map, lost, then recovered in the world of dreams. In the coldest region, the promise of breaking through the inner ice. The polar desert, another frontier of our planetary existence, a territory where only fools and heroes dare to go."

released 21 June 2011
Produced by Lauki

Collaboration - Track 2 "Deconstrucción". main violin - Heike Grafe.

Original photograph by Sdroie:
Artwork design by Urtzi Ziarsolo
Texts by Irantzu Piquero

Monday, June 20, 2011

David Tagg - The Lingering Path


released 01 March 2008

Parallel Gaze - Wave